Bread Crumb Link

Historic Figures

Hand cast, hand painted, individually numbered miniature figurines of famous historical individuals.


These figurines represent the nine justices serving on the US Supreme Court since September, 2010.  They are designed to look like the classic collectible Marx Toy Company figures of the 1950s and 60s but they are individually numbered, hand cast, hand painted (to date fewer than 70 of each figure has been made).  Each figure is 60mm tall (about 2 3/4 inches), weighs about an ounce, is cast from a resin plastic, and is painted with enamel paint.  They have the last name of the justice on the front of the base in raised letters (the back is blank).  The series includes: (Left to right) Clarence Thomas, Sonia Sotomayor, Antonin Scalia, Stephen Breyer, Chief Justice John Roberts,Samuel Alito, Anthony Kennedy, Elena Kagan, and Ruth Bader Ginsburg.


These figurines represent all 17 of the Chief Justices of the United States in its history.  They are designed identically to the current justices (numbered, hand cast, and hand painted) and feature the last name of the Chief Justice on the front of the base in raised letters, but also his number and dates of service as Chief on the back.  The series includes: (Back row) John Jay, John Rutledge, Oliver Ellsworth, John Marshall, Roger Taney, Salmon Chase; (Middle Row) Morrison Waite, Melville Fuller, Edward White, William H. Taft, Charles E. Hughes, (Front Row) Harlan Stone, Fred Vinson, Earl Warren, Warren Burger, William Rehnquist, and John G. Roberts.


There have been 112 men and women who have served as Justices of the US Supreme Court in its history.  The long-term intention is to make figurines of each one.  So far, almost two-thirds of the list is available.  The other recent and historic justices currently available include: William Cushing, James Wilson, John Blair, James Iredell, Thomas Johnson, William Paterson, Samuel Chase, Bushrod Washington, Joseph Story, John McLean, Samuel Nelson, Samuel Miller, Stephen Field, Joseph Bradley, John Marshall Harlan, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., Willis Van Devanter, James McReynolds, Louis Brandeis, George Sutherland, Pierce Butler, Owen Roberts, Benjamin Cardozo, Hugo Black, William O. Douglas, Robert Jackson, Tom C. Clark, John Marshall Harlan II, William Brennan, Charles E. Whittaker, Potter Stewart, Byron White, Arthur Goldberg, Abe Fortas, Thurgood Marshall, Harry Blackmun, Lewis Powell, John Paul Stevens, Sandra Day O'Connor, and David Souter.